With General Brent Scowcroft as its chairman emeritus and David McCormick as its chair, the Atlantic Council’s International Advisory Board includes the chief executives of several globally significant companies, and former prime ministers and presidents from Australia, Denmark, Pakistan, Poland, Spain, and Sweden. Together, they form one of the most influential and lasting groups that support constructive US leadership in the world alongside our friends and allies—the Atlantic Council’s founding purpose.


David McCormick

Chairman, International Advisory Board

Chairman Emeritus

Brent Scowcroft

Chairman Emeritus

President and CEO


  • Secretary Madeleine Albright, Former US Secretary of State
  • Mr. Anil Ambani, Chairman, Reliance Group
  • Mr. Philippe Amon, Chairman and CEO, SICPA Holding SA
  • Mr. Tewodros Ashenafi, Founder, Chairman, and CEO, Southwest Holdings
  • Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz, Former Prime Minister of Pakistan
  • President José María Aznar, Former President of the Government of Spain
  • Mr. Alain Bejjani, CEO and Director, Majjid Al Futtaim
  • Prime Minister Carl Bildt, Former Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden
  • Dr. Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency
  • Mr. J. Neal Blue, Chairman and CEO, General Atomics
  • Mr. Håkan Buskhe, President and CEO, SAAB AB
  • Mr. Victor L.L. Chu, Chairman and CEO, First Eastern Investment Group
  • Lieutenant General James Clapper, Former US Director of National Intelligence
  • Mr. Claudio Descalzi, CEO, Eni
  • Mr. Markus Dohle, CEO, Penguin Random House
  • Mr. Richard Edelman, President and CEO, Edelman
  • Mr. Mario Greco, CEO, Zurich Insurance Group Ltd.
  • Mr. Mehmet N. Günal, Founder, Chairman of the Board, and President, MNG Holding A.S.
  • Secretary Charles T. Hagel, Former US Secretary of Defense
  • Mr. Bahaa R. Hariri
  • Mr. Gregory J. Hayes, Chairman and CEO, United Technologies Corp.
  • Ms. Marillyn A. Hewson, Chairman, President, and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Mr. Yongsoo Huh, President and CEO, GS Energy
  • Mr. Hunter Hunt, President and CEO, Hunt Consolidated Energy, LLC
  • Mr. Majid H. Jafar, CEO, Crescent Petroleum
  • President Aleksander Kwaśniewski, Former President of Poland
  • Ambassador Giampiero Massolo, Chairman, Fincantieri SpA
  • Secretary Ernest Moniz, Former US Secretary of Energy
  • Mr. Robert E. Moritz, Chairman and Senior Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers International Limited
  • Mr. Rupert Murdoch, Chairman, Fox Corporation
  • Ms. Ebru Özdemir, Chairwoman, Limak Investments
  • Mr. Dimitri Papalexopoulos, Chairman and CEO, Titan Group
  • Mr. Victor Pinchuk, Founder, East One Ltd.
  • The Rt. Hon. Lord Robertson of Port Ellen, Former Secretary General of NATO
  • Prime Minister Kevin M. Rudd, Former Prime Minister of Australia
  • Mr. Stephen A. Schwarzman, Chairman, CEO, and Co-Founder, The Blackstone Group
  • Mr. James C. Smith, President and CEO, Thomson Reuters
  • Secretary Lawrence H. Summers, Former US Secretary of the Treasury
  • Mr. Adam Tan, CEO, HNA Group
  • Mr. James C. Temerty, Chairman and Director, Northland Power
  • Prime Minister Thorning-Schmidt, Former Prime Minister of Denmark
  • Mr. Jacob Wallenberg, Chairman, Investor AB
  • Ambassador Robert B. Zoellick, Former President of the World Bank